Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals Announces 2020 Scholar-Innovator Award Recipients

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Six physician-scientists from the U.S. and Canada selected for drug development grant

CLEVELAND – The Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland, Ohio, today announced the 2020 class of Harrington Scholar-Innovators, which includes the Institute’s first Canadian Scholar. The grants will support a range of drug discovery projects including novel therapies for treating Alzheimer’s, Prion disease, cancer, lung diseases, resistant tuberculosis, and rare genetic disorders.  
The Harrington Discovery Institute—part of The Harrington Project for Discovery & Development—was established to accelerate the development of new medicines to address unmet patient needs. Harrington Scholar-Innovators are accomplished physician-scientists whose research demonstrates innovation, creativity and potential for impact. In addition to grant funding, Harrington Discovery Institute provides guidance and oversight in all aspects of drug development, while taking no rights to intellectual property, which is retained by the scholar and their institution.
“Supporting the work of physician-scientists is the foundational mission of the institute. With this class of Scholar-Innovators, we will invest more resources in individual programs than in previous years, to more effectively progress discoveries toward clinical trials. We continue to evolve and grow our model to best address the major unmet needs in medicine and society,” said Jonathan S. Stamler, MD, President, Harrington Discovery Institute and Robert S. and Sylvia K. Reitman Family Foundation Distinguished Chair of Cardiovascular Innovation at University Hospitals and Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.  
The selected Scholars have access to several rounds of capital (up to a total of $700,000) through their affiliation with the Harrington Discovery Institute to enable the transition of their work into the private sector. They also have facilitated access to BioMotiv, the mission-aligned development company that is part of The Harrington Project.
The 2020 Harrington Scholar-Innovator Award recipients, their organizations and fields of research are:
Rizwan Haq, MD, PhD - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (U.S.)
A small molecule that targets cancers with dysregulated KEAP-NRF2 signaling
Michael Holtzman, MD - Washington University (U.S.)
A new drug to correct epithelial stem cell reprogramming in airway disease
Kyu Rhee, MD, PhD - Weill Cornell Medicine (U.S.)
New and selective inhibitors of tuberculosis
Stephen Strittmatter, MD, PhD - Yale University (U.S.)
Prion Protein Antagonist for Alzheimer’s Disease and Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease
Donald Weaver, MD, PhD, FRCP(C) - University Health Network (Canada)
Targeting Immunopathy to treat Alzheimer’s Disease
Timothy Yu, MD, PhD - Boston Children’s Hospital (U.S.)
Personalized splice-modulating oligonucleotide therapy for Niemann-Pick Disease
                                                                             # # #

Download full release

<< Back
  • News Media Access

  • Register
  • Forgot My Password
  • Search:

    Advanced Search

  • Subscribe To Our Latest News

    Subscribe to University Hospitals' RSS Feeds or Email Alerts to get our latest news.

    University Hospitals RSS Feed  University Hospitals Email Alerts
  • Twitter

    Must select a Twitter Account for Rail Gadget in Twitter Tool.

You must be logged in to view this item.


This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.